Canned Marinated Mushrooms

This afternoon was my first try at water bath canning.  Seeing that mushrooms were on sale, I started an internet search for a recipe for canned marinated mushrooms.  I found tons of recipes for refrigerated marinated mushrooms, and some recipes for plain canned mushrooms.  Buried between them was one or two recipes for canned marinated mushrooms.  I headed to the kitchen to get started!

Not knowing what the results would be, I halved the recipe to “test” it on two pints jars instead of four.  Here is the recipe I used.

Start with 3 8-ounce containers of mushrooms.  Trim off the stems and rinse under cool running water to remove any dirt.

Then in a large saucepan combine:

1-1/4 cups white vinegar

1-1/2 cups water

3 tablespoons sea salt

Heat, stirring to dissolve the salt, then add the mushrooms.

Bring to a boil then reduce heat to a simmer and cook for 12 minutes or until tender.  While cooking, chop 4 tablespoons of onions (about 1/4 of a small onion).

Clean jars, lids and bands with hot soapy water.  Place lids in a small saucepan with enough water to cover them.  Heat over low heat, and do not let boil.

Pack mushrooms into jars then add:

2 tablespoons onion

1/2 teaspoon peppercorns

1/8 teaspoon garlic powder, or 1 clove garlic

finally fill jars with hot brine left over from cooking, leaving 1/2 inch headspace (the space between the rim of the jar, and the liquid).  Remove any air bubbles on sides of jar with a non-metal spatula.  Wipe rims of jars, take the lids out of the hot water and place on jars, then put on the metal band.

Boil in in a pot deep enough to cover the tops of your jars, boil for 30 minutes.

Note: I am above 6000 feet, if you are at a lower altitude the processing time will be less.

After the jars cool, the tops should be suctioned inward, if you push on the tops and they move refrigerate immediately and use within a week.  If your seal is good they can be stored safely up to a year.

My finished product.  I have not tasted them yet, but when I do I will post how they taste!

Thanks for Reading!!!

Cindy Dorfsmith

3 comments

  1. Thanks for bravely going where I have not gone before. Keep going! and I might get motivated too. Usually I dry or freeze extra produce from gardens/trees and sales. I’m enjoying your projects and observations.

Leave a Reply

