$3 Newpaper Pot Maker

I have wanted one of these newspaper pot makers since I first laid eyes on them in one of my gardening catalogs.  However, the frugal side of me decided that $13 (plus shipping) was too much to spend on a couple pieces of wood.

Today, while looking for a less expensive alternative, I stumbled across this version.  I really liked the concept.  If I was not so “frugal” I would definitely buy this pot maker over the wooden one above.   Not only does it make newspaper pots, but soil blocks too.  Looking at this design got my creative mind going.

I thought I could do something similar with PVC pipe.  I headed over to Home Depot to see what I could find to mimic the basic principles of the design.  I found the following parts on the plumbing aisle.  The total came to just under $3.

1 – 2 inch PVC Coupling $.94

2 – 1 1/2 inch PVC Dome Slip Cap $.94

3 – 1 1/2 inch PVC Bushing $.82

The assembly is super easy.  Place the bushing (#3) into the dome slip cap (#2) …that’s it!!

This is the plunger for your pot maker.

The coupling (#1) is the pot form.

Making the newspaper pot is just as simple.

Fold a single sheet of newspaper in half and make fold the open edge over about 1 inch.

Roll the newspaper around piece the form (piece #1), leaving about 1 1/2 inch overhang on one end.

Tape the seam.

Tuck the overlay inside

Pinch the sides to make a more solid bottom.

Slide the plunger inside and push firmly to make a secure base for your pot.

Pull out the form (piece #1)

And fill with dirt!

In about 1 minute and less than $3, you have a paper pot to start your seed in.  When moving your plants into the garden, you can place the entire pot into the soil, no need to transplant and risk shocking your seedlings.

Thanks for reading, don’t forget to subscribe!

Cindy Dorfsmith

28 comments

  1. I went this morning to get the items you suggested. The bushing I bought was a 1 1/2 bushing. A 2″ bushing won’t fit inside a 1 1/2 dome slip cap.

    1. Eeeek, sorry to hear that!
      That was the information and parts list provided by the original poster {Cindy Dorfsmith} on making a news paper pot maker.
      When you discover a correct size needed to make your pots please let me know and I will edit my posting to reflect your new, better, useful part sizes.

      Thanks for your visit to my little blog

  2. Sorry about the incorrect information. The bushing I purchased must have been tagged wrong. I used the stickers on each part for the measurements. I have corrected the blog post to reflect a 1 1/2 inch bushing.

  3. The instructions were a bit confusing (I have to fold my newspaper in half twice to fit the design, the steps never identified which end or edge they were referring to, even with the pictures), but I played with it and figured it out. For the price of the advice (and the materials), it was certainly worth it. The paper pot I made looks okay, and I’m sure I’ll improve as I get more practice. Thanks!

  4. I didn’t want to go to the hardware store today so I improvised by using a 1 pint. 9 fl oz empty bottle water. It did the job since I only needed ten pots. I cut the plastic bottle in half and used a concave bottom steak bottle to mold the bottom. I also had to press the the bottom while the steak bottle was inside the molded paper to make a tight seal. Thank
    you for your idea! It helped me think!

  5. Thanks for sharing your frugal think outside the box solution! A quick questions,what is the purpose of the bushing? Why is the dome slip cap not sufficient for pushing and securing the base of the newspaper? I am sure that I am missing something.

    Thanks!

  6. Pingback: Paper pots
  7. Pingback: paper plant pots
  8. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not
    even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great blog!

  9. Pingback: Paper Pots
  10. I am curious to find out what blog platform you’re utilizing? I’m having some small security issues with my latest
    blog and I’d like to find something more secure. Do you have any suggestions?

  11. I’m really inspired together with your writing skills as neatly as with the format on your blog. Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it your self? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a great blog like this
    one today..

  12. Pingback: bisto carton
  13. Pingback: paper pot maker

Leave a Reply

