Best Donuts Ever!

Not only are these donuts really tasty, but super easy!

I’ve been searching for a simple donut recipe since I bought my deep fryer a few weeks ago.  All of the recipes I found online were too time consuming and complicated.  The thought of spending my morning waiting for dough to rise with a rolling pin in hand was not appealing.  I wanted donuts within 30 minutes!

Determined to make donuts this weekend I started searching my cook books for any recipe that would work.  I found a recipe for Drop Doughnuts in Mormon Country Cooking by Winnifred C. Jardine.  The recipe didn’t call for yeast or a rolling pin!

Drop Doughnuts

Yield 2 Dozen

375 degrees (hot oil)

2 Eggs

1/3 cup sugar

2 tablespoons melted shortening (I used butter)

1/3 cup milk

2 cups flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Beat eggs until very light.  Add sugar, melted shortening and milk.  Add dry ingredients which have been sifted together.  Mix well.  Drop by teaspoonfuls into deep hot fat.  Fry on all sides until golden brown.  Drain on unglazed brown paper; sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar.

Per my son’s request I made maple glaze.

1 cup powdered sugar

3 tablespoons maple syrup

Mix well

“These are the best donuts ever!!” said my son after the first bite.

Not too sweet, with a crisp outer shell, these donuts were as tasty as they were simple and will be a great new treat in this house!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

