Hobbit Gardens aka Postage Stamp Gardening

The Postage Stamp Vegetable Garden by Karen Newcomb

9781607746836

I was very excited to get and read this book. You see, I’m scared of plants. Now, I’ll eat most plants put in front of me (especially when slathered in butter), however when it comes to growing plants, my knees get to shaking! So, the idea of starting with a teeny tiny garden is very appealing.

Unfortunately, what I found from this book was not what I was hoping for. The Postage Stamp Vegetable Garden contained the basic information given in the Square Foot Gardening book, only without the neatness of square feet. I rather enjoy order and a systematic approach to things, so the idea of wildly sowing seeds in a willy nilly pattern makes my slight obsessive personality shudder.

The straight gardening information was sound and gave good advice as to when, and even suggestions on how much, to plant. This information was the bulk of the book, so for a very beginner, it might be a good resource to have.

For those that enjoy the idea of a more natural, carefree style of gardening, this book may provide you with some great ideas! For those that enjoy traditional row gardening or the more orderly square-foot method, this book may not be for you.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

