Finally, a FUN cookbook

I absolutely love cookbooks!  Nearly every trip to a book store, or thrift store ends with a cookbook in my hand.  Needless to say, I have read more than my fair share of cookbooks.  Even though I love to flip through them and find new recipes and ideas, I’m often left with the feeling of deja vu.  The recipes are all similar, with one or two slight differences here and there.  Recipes rarely stand out, and I often only find one or two recipes that I believe are worth my attention.

I expected the same when I received “Milk Bar Life” by Christina Tosi.  I was pleasantly surprised when I cracked open this book and began flipping through the recipes.  Not only are the pictures gorgeous, but the recipes are fun and unique.  After the first 10 pages, I stopped trying to flag recipes to make because nearly every page was tagged!

Throughout the pages there are tips, and ideas in the margins.  I find the “feel free to add” bubbles extremely helpful in making a recipe unique to our family.  The author also includes some history of the recipes and her restaurant, Momofuku Milk Bar.

9780770435103

One of my favorite sections is “hand me downs” which contains recipes from the authors family that we are lucky enough to receive.  Grandma’s Oatmeal Cookies are included in my long list of must makes from this book.  These cookies look amazing, with sweetened shredded coconut and a confectioners’ sugar glaze. Another recipe on my list is “Acorn Squash with Cinnamon Butter and Breakfast Sausage”, all I have to say is YUM!

Anyone that knows me, knows that baking is part of who I am.  I love winter because my house is warmed by the oven and there are cookies, and cakes always ready to be enjoyed.  This is why I especially look forward to trying the recipes in the chapter, “A Cookie a Day….”. Maple Pecan Cookies, Fruity-Pebble Meringues, Molasses-Rye Cookies, Banana Cookies, Thai Tea Cookies.  Whatever your taste, there is a cookie in this book for you!

I’ve only scratched the surface of the incredible recipes in this book.  Other recipe sections include: Supermarket, We are Family, Weak Nights, Freakin’ Weekend, Cookout/Bonfire, Craft Night/Sleepover, and Going Out.

I highly recommend this cookbook to anyone with a sense of adventure in the kitchen.  Now lets get baking!

For more information about this book, click here.
Thanks for reading!
Cindy Dorfsmith
I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review

Leave a Reply

