Between the Dark and Daylight

A couple chapters into reading Between the Dark and Daylight by Joan Chittister, I was full of doubt that I could get through the entire book.  It began as somewhat preachy and it took several weeks of the book sitting on my side table before I decided to pick it back up and try to get through it.   I was however, extremely surprised at the depth in the remaining chapters.

Each chapter discusses a contradiction in life.  Chapter eight, “The Poverty of Plenty”, talks about how buying and accumulating things in life can be a form of poverty.  I enjoyed the perspective the author came from on the subject. Chapter 11, “The Energy of Exhaustion” really hit home with me as I read through the book.  I’ve had a difficult time with energy in the past couple of weeks.  Finding it difficult to start new tasks, or even finish what I’ve started, this chapter helped me realize that the exhaustion I’m feeling can actually be a positive feeling, proving that I’ve been working hard.

Overall I would say that this book ended up being way better than first expected.  Not only should you not judge a book by its cover, but this one showed me to not judge a book by its first 20 pages either.

For more information about this book, click here.
Thanks for reading!
Cindy Dorfsmith
I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review

Leave a Reply

